Top Ten Movies I Look Forward to Seeing in 2013

James Tweet

James was right. No hockey equals winter boredom. I replaced my first love with my second: movies. Glorious, fantastical movies. However, unless you live under a rock, nay, a mountain, you probably heard the lockout has reached a tentative agreement. But that won’t stop me from talking about movies. You see, I’m still mad at hockey. Hockey broke up with me and it took several months to recover. Now that it’s back, I can’t just dive back in head first, or I’ll seem desperate (Who am I kidding, I’m desperate). Anyway, here’s what 2013’s got cookin’, plus a few honourable mentions.

10. Gravity

A Sandra Bullock and George Clooney movie set in space. WAIT! Don’t close the link yet. I know what it sounds like. Sandra Bullock hardly deserves a spot in any positive top-ten, and Clooney anywhere north of the stratosphere will only bring back haunting memories of Solaris. But listen to this synopsis:

Dr Ryan Stone (Bullock) is a medical engineer on her first shuttle flight and Matt Kowalsky (Clooney) an experienced shuttle commander. On a routine spacewalk, disaster strikes and their shuttle is destroyed. Tethered only to each other and with no radio link to Earth, they’re adrift in the vaccum – and the air’s running out. ‘The only way home may be to go further out into the terrifying expanse of space.'”

Attached to nothing but another human in the void with no shuttle or communication and low oxygen levels sounds like one of the scariest concepts I’ve ever heard.

Release Date: October 18

9. Gangster Squad

If you haven’t seen the explosive trailer yet, here it is:

 

What more do I have to say? Love the casting choices. Penn looks deliciously evil. Gosling and Stone hook up again. Awesome.

Release Date: January 11

8. Monsters Academy

Monsters (640x586)

This picture sold me.

I’m a sucker for Pixar and animation in general. They always create beautiful worlds and weave stunning tales. Monsters Inc is one of my all time favourites, so how could I resist a sequel? Pixar has been two-for-three with their sequels in my books. Both Toy Story sequels were phenomenal, but Cars 2 fell a little short. Granted, Monsters University is their first prequel, and I have a lot of high hopes for it.

Release Date: June 21

7. The Wolf of Wall Street

Martin Scorsese and Leonardo Dicaprio: the best director-actor combination since Martin Scorsese and Robert Deniro. This will be their fifth collaboration together, which is unfathomably exciting. Together they’ve produced some of my favourite movies, and if history is any indication, this flick is shaping up to be another humdinger. Not only because of their history together, but also because Wall Street is reminiscent of Dicaprio’s Catch Me if You Can:

Jordan Belfort, a stock broker who ran a boiler room in the 1990s, lived the high life and was indicted in 1998 for securities fraud and money laundering. He served 22 months in federal prison after cooperating with the FBI and had to pay back $100 million to stock brokers.

Release Date: TBA

6. The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

Obviously.

Release Date: December 13

5. Star Trek: Into Darkness

Benedict

 

Look at Benedict Cumberbatch, just standing on a pile of destruction. Who are you and what do you want? No one really knows exactly what Cumberbatch is up to in the sequel to the 2009 modern adaption of Star Trek, except that he might force Kirk to sacrifice a crew-mate for the greater good. As soon as I heard Cumberbatch was cast, I was giddier than a redditor upvoting cat pictures. This movie could be a total flop and I wouldn’t mind because that’s how amazing he is. His performance as Sherlock was so inspiring, Peter Jackson cast him as the voice of Smaug, which I figured I could just mention now. That’s right, two major villains in one year.

Release Date: May 17

4. Man of Steel

This is another must-watch trailer. Enjoy:

 

When Kevin Costner said “maybe,” I knew immediately this was the Superman film I was looking for. It looks to be every bit as gritty as the Dark Knight trilogy and every bit as absorbing too. With Christopher Nolan producing and constantly praising director Zack Snyder for his work on the film, it looks like we’re in for a real treat. This is the Superman we deserve!

Release Date: June 14

3. Anchorman: The Legend Continues

Ferrell

Burgundy on the Set of Conan seducing us with his melodic genius.

I remember watching Conan with my buddy when suddenly Will Ferrell comes out in full Ron Burgundy garb. After a jaw-dropping jazz flute solo, he announced the sequel to Anchorman, and it was at that moment when I realized no amount of spare underwear could save me. The crew is back, making the world a better place once again.

Release Date: October 21

2. Riddick

This is where I might lose some people, but I have long been a fan of the Riddick series. He is my favourite anti-hero, someone who should be disliked but gosh-golly you just can’t damn well help yourself. I love knowing how hard Vin Diesel works to see his nerddom brought to fruition. This will be the third live-action film in the series, and it is well deserved. Diesel pours his heart and soul into this character, and you can tell. Also, good news for many fans who preferred Pitch Black over Chronicles. The third installment will be returning to its’ simplified roots, and we’ll get to see Furya, his home planet. I need this movie now.

Come on, you have to admit this looks cool.

Release Date: September 6.

1. Enders Game

This is by far the movie I’m most excited for, but it also happens to be the movie I’m most nervous to see. There’s a reason this book has been put on hold for so long. I’m scared to see how they’ve changed the book. Yet, if it’s done right, it could be one of the greatest sci-fi movies of all time. If you haven’t read the book before, maybe this quit from little Ender will entice you:

“In the moment when I truly understand my enemy, understand him well enough to defeat him, then in that very moment I also love him. I think it’s impossible to really understand somebody, what they want, what they believe, and not love them the way they love themselves.

And then, in that very moment when I love them….I destroy them.”

This book means a lot to me and several million others who share the same passion for what is undoubtedly one of the greatest works of the 20th century (and Ender’s Game pales in comparison to its’ sequel). I hope they do it right. My fingers will be crosses for the next 10 months.

Enjoy this fan-made trailer:

 

Release Date: November 1

 

2013 is a good year for sci-fi fans. I hope this trend continues. Also, there are dozens of other movies which have piqued my interest, so here are a few honourable mentions.

  • Carrie
  • The Tomb
  • Now You See Me
  • Oblivion
  • 300: Rise of an Empire
  • Sin City: A Dame to Kill For
  1. What a I? Your third love? :p

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

